Cloudy Day, Cloudy Mind

My apologies for not updating sooner. It’s been a long few weeks full of weather changes, life changes and flares.

I’ll tell you a secret: I’ve been going to therapy. Many years ago, when I was a child, I suffered from abuse and neglect. I have developed many coping mechanisms over the years, the primary being high anxiety and a low emotional intelligence. As my therapist said, I’m far too “Vulcan like.” (If you don’t get the reference, I feel sorry for you. Go watch some Star Trek ASAP.) I need to “get in touch with my emotional side” and develop some comfort with my emotions. I truly believe that constantly striving for self improvement is the KEY to happiness. I feel like I’ve been stalling for a while now in life, so I decided to make some changes. I began working out. I began to lose weight. I began to focus on fitness and mental health (hence why I finally worked up the courage to get some emotional healing done.) I’m finally starting to feel happy.

The weather has also changed, leading to more pain and less motivation. With cloudy days come a cloudy mind, thanks to fibro fog. It’s a common belief that weather changes can affect pain in people with arthritis, fibromyalgia and other conditions that cause joint pain. The science behind this phenomenon isn’t well explored, but there is some evidence to suggest that the pressure changes associated with weather change can cause the fluids in your joints to expand or contract, which causes pain in some people. (Read more about this here.) Unfortunately there isn’t much we can do about this except wait for it to pass. Meanwhile, our brains are doing their best to cope and as a result, we can’t think quite so clearly. I have dropped, on average, 4 glass cups a week for the last 3 weeks. I think I’ll replace them with something shatter proof!

This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cloudy Day, Cloudy Mind

  1. Lessie-Lou says:

    I wish I had a bit more of your Vulcan-ness. I’m far too emotional, think Neelix and his trying to make everyone feel better with food. 😉

    I actually had to replace all of my DC cups with plastic ones because I keep on dropping them. They’re ugly and tend to go opaque after all the washings, but they serve their purpose.

Leave a Reply

